Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

how best to start body prep?

CHEV66JB

Corvette
'59 Corvette #5366
Hi all,

I am eager to get to work on my '59 rear clip, and was wondering all of your thoughts on doing prep work on the body. The body has been stripped of its original silver paint prior to my buying it, and I wondered what you all thought I should do next?

I have a DA sander and an air compressor, and wondered the following:

1. since this is my first time w/fiberglass, do I go with the most minimal grit sanding discs?

2. how would be the best way for me to primer the body, and what is the most recommended type of primer? I don't have a spray gun at this time, but wouldn't mind buying one if I can get some instruction from "the experts" 8^]

Thanks,

CHEV66JB
http://mywebpages.comcast.net/jbiii/project_59.htm

Well quite an adveterous task at hand building a car from the clip.But I am not a body man NOR a corvette exspert but I feel the best way to staighten a corvette body is with a sanding block not with a da If a da is used improperly it makes waves in the finish because most people only use a tiny section of the allready small surface area of the sanding disk on the da.

Good luck and keep us posted

Re:

Thanks IH2LOSE,

Yeah, it's a bit of a challenge, but I pretty much did it with my '66, and will never have the "extra" funds lying around to buy a complete '59, so this is the best I can do.

When you mention the sanding block, do you simply mean one of those small 3-4" rubber blocks that has slits in the edges to hold the paper? Wow, that will take some time I think.

CHEV66JB