Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! I've got a "CLINK"!

J

Just Bren

:ugh I noticed it last week and then again today while driving, well actually, when shifting gears. It's right after it's put in gear, I hear a CLINK from the back like maybe gears clicking or something metal shifting back there and just CLINK! :eyerole Yea, we haven't looked at it yet but just curious on some ideas of what to look for. Again, it's only when shifting, not normal driving.

Oh yeah, remember I'm a noob to these beasts so don't be too harsh on me! :bash Thanks in advance!

Brenda, I can't help you with the clink, but you must have us confused with "another" forum if you think we will be hard on you. ;) One of the other forums is notorious for that type of behavior. Here at CAC we are very friendly. Hopefully someone will be along to give you some guidance on you 'Clink'.

:ugh I noticed it last week and then again today while driving, well actually, when shifting gears. It's right after it's put in gear, I hear a CLINK from the back like maybe gears clicking or something metal shifting back there and just CLINK! :eyerole Yea, we haven't looked at it yet but just curious on some ideas of what to look for. Again, it's only when shifting, not normal driving.

Oh yeah, remember I'm a noob to these beasts so don't be too harsh on me! :bash Thanks in advance!

Brenda, welcome !

Regarding your clink...

Try sitting in the car and shifting from rev to forward back to rev....if the clink is pretty consistant with each shift then its pretty safe to say it time for some U-Joints... :ugh

If its starting to click as you roll away from a stop,...the joint is close to failing.

You own 6. Two on each side and 2 down the middle (most fun to change). It all can be done at home but the car needs to be up on some good solid jacks because someone will be spending a few hrs underneath it.