Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: What am I in store for, vette noob here

vetteman741

Corvette
1998 blk/oak auto
My first, finally after 30 years of wanting a vette I plan to buy a 98 coupe this month blk/oak auto, has 100K+ miles, one owner (factory build pics/NCM delivery with pics) full service history with a "claimed :ugh" Chevy dealer replaced or rebuilt engine at 50K mark. Still waiting on doc that proves engine was replaced. Was claimed it was replaced because of oil usage was intollerable

I have been working on all my cars for 20+years but am new to vettes, not chevys

Stuff I noticed wrong:
both front signal bulbs are out, one floating around in lens
seller says steering gets stiff some times and PS system needs burped
pass side mirror glass is cracked
Balancer may be wobbling-cant tell-looks the same as other car with 59K miles on it and running-may be just shadows

I forgot to look at headlight operation:duh
has both tops
climate control
Mobile 1 dealer oil change records seem legit
seats are great condition-does the back recline via power like it slides or is recline a lever thing?
exhaust is original-what is expected mileage for this to last?
keep forgetting to look and see if it is a Z51-what else is susp codes?
tires are new Mich pilot sport A/S plus non run flat:thumb-what type of fix a flat should I carry?
looks like exhaust manifold shields are gone-is this common and are wires long enough to get burned?
car makes no valve noise or exhaust leaks when it is started cold
I have not seen any leaks yet
are the holes under the front signal lights in front facia supposed to be ducts for brakes?
looks like it still has red coolant, i will swap to green later based on my own experience
Is the fuel pump replacement process hard, just wondering if I have to drop more than the tank

paint is decent but far from perfect, one spider crack on upper rear pass side quarter panel